In The Country

L. to R.: Roger Arntzen, Morten Qvenild, Pål Hausken - © ACT / Jørn Stenersen
L. to R.: Roger Arntzen, Morten Qvenild, Pål Hausken - © ACT / Jørn Stenersen

The Norwegian piano trio In The Country celebrates ten years in 2013, after having played nearly 160 concerts in over 20 countries and released almost half a dozen albums and videos, all to great critical acclaim by the worldwide press. In The Country has been awarded the ”Best Norwegian Young Jazz Artists” 2004 and they were awarded the ”Independent Music Awards 2012” for their latest full length art concert film. Now with their fifth album it´s exciting to announce the walkover to the grand German record label ACT. The album was recorded in the legendary Sunset Sound studio in Los Angeles, during the trio´s summer tour in the USA in 2012, by the hands of the Grammy awarded Ryan Freeland. All compositions are made by multi-keyboardist Morten Qvenild, and put together with bass player Roger Arntzen and drummer Pål Hausken. ”Stylistic orthodoxy be damned”, said US Magazine Downbeat about their latest studio album, and ”Sunset Sunrise” should be no exception.

”There is something serene about the way In The Country’s music motions through the record's pieces; like the air from room to room. And these rooms are indeed translucent, or open to one another: In The Country’s focus is on incorporating and expressing disparate influences and expressions. More important than technical virtuosity or spellbinding musical features is the effortless, tranquil sweeps that melts the pieces and refine the music into glass.”

Listen To Norway, 2011 (